On the Ballot

Early voting begins Saturday for Dec. 8 runoff elections

By Dominic Massa

Source: WWL-TV

November 23, 2018

Early voting begins Saturday, Nov. 24 and runs through Dec. 1 for the Dec. 8 elections across Louisiana, including several runoffs.

Early voting is available every day except Sunday, Nov. 25. Voting hours are 8:30 a.m. to 6 p.m. at parish registrar of voters offices and other locations including New Orleans City Hall and Jefferson Parish’s Joseph S. Yenni Building in Elmwood.

At the top of the ballot is a statewide runoff for Secretary of State between interim Secretary of State Kyle Ardoin, a Republican, and Democratic candidate Gwen Collins-Greenup, a lawyer from Clinton, La. The winner will fill out the final year of the term of longtime Secretary of State Tom Schedler. He abruptly resigned in May after being accused of sexually harassing an employee.

There is also a runoff for Plaquemines Parish president, with incumbent Amos Cormier III facing challenger Kirk Lepine, a Plaquemines Parish councilman who led the field in the primary.

There is a race in Orleans Parish is for a Civil Court judgeship, with Omar Mason and Marie Williams facing off for the open Division E seat on the bench.

Voters will also decide on a City of New Orleans charter change dealing with governance of the Sewerage and Water Board. New Orleans voters will consider removing one citizen member of the board and adding a City Council representative. That council member may be either the chair of the City Council’s public works committee, a committee member appointed by the chair, or a civil engineer appointed by the chair.

The Bureau of Governmental Research has come out against the change, saying it could further politicize the board. Read its analysis here.

Elsewhere, there are school board runoffs in Jefferson, Lafourche, St. John, St. Tammany, Tangipahoa & Terrebonne parishes.

Mayoral or council runoffs will be decided in Abita Springs, Bogalusa, Kentwood, Harahan, Hammond. There is also a runoff in Pearl River for police chief.

Voters in parts of St. Tammany Parish will elect a new state representative, with Mary DuBuisson and John Raymond in a Dist. 90 runoff to replace Greg Cromer, who was elected Slidell mayor.

Fair Use Notice

This site occasionally reprints copyrighted material, the use of which has not always been specifically authorized by the copyright owner. We make such material available in our efforts to advance understanding of issues and to highlight the accomplishments of our affiliates. We believe this constitutes a “fair use” of any such copyrighted material as provided for in section 107 of the US Copyright Law. In accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107, the material on this site is available without profit. For more information go to: US CODE: Title 17,107. Limitations on exclusive rights: Fair use. If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond “fair use,” you must obtain permission from the copyright owner.