BGR Recognizes Excellence in Government 2020 Honorees in WYES Broadcast

September 21, 2020

The Bureau of Governmental Research (BGR) featured our Excellence in Government Awards 2020 honorees in a one-hour broadcast on WYES-TV on Sept. 18 and 20. 

Watch the program here:

Created by BGR in 1994, Excellence in Government is a biennial program that honors dedicated public employees and private citizens who have significantly improved government in the New Orleans area. BGR selects the honorees from nominations submitted by citizens throughout the community. BGR announced the selection of the honorees earlier this month.

“We are pleased to present the BGR Excellence in Government Awards program in a televised format for the first time,” said Amy L. Glovinsky, BGR President & CEO. “We are thankful to WYES-TV and event sponsor Canal Barge Company, Inc., for making possible a community-wide broadcast that will shine a light on extraordinary public employees and private citizens who actively work for efficient and effective government. This televised event is a first for BGR and an exciting evolution of our awards program. We are happy to unveil this new Excellence in Government tradition.”

Program viewers will learn about the honorees and the accomplishments that led to their selection. In a series of interviews, honorees will discuss their work as individuals or members of a team to improve local government. They will talk about challenges they faced and what it took to overcome them. In addition, the program includes interviews with representatives of BGR, who will discuss the history and purpose of the Excellence in Government program.

By category, the BGR Excellence in Government Awards 2020 honorees are:

  • Merit, recognizing outstanding performance by public sector employees:
    • A team of City of New Orleans employees including John Pourciau, Monika Gerhart, Liana Elliott, Art Walton, Tara Richard, Josh Zuckerman, Beau Tidwell, Ray Bolling, Sunni LeBeouf, Jonathan Harris, Joshua Cox and Deborah Vivien for securing state legislative approval for the Fair Share funding initiative.
    • A team of Jefferson Parish Juvenile Services employees including Roy L. Juncker, Jr., Joan Ruiz, Matt Villio, Colleen Conley, Lashaunda Thomas, Luis Bustamante, Trista Duplessis and Erin Ronquille  for administration of the Alternatives to Detention program.
    • John White, Former Louisiana Superintendent of Education, for his initiatives as superintendent on curriculum reforms, career and technical education and financial aid applications.
  • Innovation, recognizing public sector employees who have used innovative solutions to address pressing problems:
    • Patty Glaser, CEO/Head of School for Kenner Discovery Health Sciences Academy and Dr. John Ochsner Discovery Health Sciences Academy,  for her work to secure construction financing for the two academies.
  • Citizenship, recognizing a private citizen who has worked to improve the quality of government:
    • Melanie Bronfin, Early Childhood Care and Education Advocate and Founder, Louisiana Policy Institute for Children, for her work to improve early care and education in Louisiana.
  • Lifetime Achievement, recognizing sustained performance over a career in public service:
    • Cynthia “Cindy” Connick, CEO, New Orleans Building Corporation,  for her outstanding career of public service to the City of New Orleans.
    • Ernest Gethers, Director of Business Services, City of New Orleans Office of Economic Development (retired), for his outstanding career of public service to the City of New Orleans.


Read PDF of Sept. 8 News Release