In The News › Social scene: A touch of history, research and a giving heart

Dec 5, 2012

Source: The Times-Picayune

Social scene: A touch of history, research and a giving heart

By Nell Nolan
The Times-Picayune

Midday meals and mingling rallied hundreds to various sites.

In fact, a site, a historical one, underscored one of the luncheons. On a recent Sunday, the First Louisiana Company, Jamestowne Society met at the New Orleans Country Club. Organized for educational, historical and patriotic purposes, the Jamestowne Society has as its mission to discover and record the living descendants of those early settlers of Jamestowne, who, in 1607, established an English-speaking colony in the New World. The society also performs archeological and preservation work in Virginia, particularly at the original Jamestowne site.

Camaraderie and a fine repast of turtle soup, garden salad, beef bourguignon and white chocolate bread pudding were some of the luncheon’s features, as was the talk by retired Judge John Grout. “George Washington” titled his program.

Attentive listeners included sociey governor Lydia H. Ozenberger; officers Emily Smith, Lee Barry, Julia Wood and Elizabeth Sewell; board member Dr. Gresham Farrar; and Rachel Grace, Sarah Grace, Henry Grace, Suzanne Farrar, Bryan Farrar, Monica Pastorek, Susan Drogin, Marcia Baird, Fritzi Martin and Carole Grout with speaker John.

Elsewhere, and with sponsorial thanks to Chevron and Whitney Bank, “BGR’s 2012 Annual Luncheon” held forth at the Marriott New Orleans with Kathleen Parker, Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist and nationally syndicated columnist as the guest speaker. Dorinda C. Bordlee introduced her. The event, the sole fundraiser for the Bureau of Governmental Research (BGR), drew about 650 people from the private and public sectors.

Prior to the lunch, a meeting occurred with thanks tapping outgoing board members Hans B. Jonassen, Christian T. Brown and Samuel A. Giberga. New directors include Toya Barnes-Teamer (Dillard University), Glenn W. Hayes (Group Assurance Associates Inc.) and David A. Kerstein (Helis Oil & Gas Co. LLC). J. Kelly Duncan, who succeeds Sterling Scott Willis, is the 2013 board chairman and Mark A. Mayer, Hardy B. Fowler and Ludovico Feoli, the respective vice chairman, secretary and treasurer. Re-elected to the board for three-year terms were Edgar L. Chase III, Vaughan Fitzpatrick, John C. Hope III and Alan J. Yacoubian.

Among the notables, all relishing the repast of harvest salad with candied pecans, wagyu skirt steak and doberge cake, were Mayor Mitch Landrieu, Joseph S. “Joe” Exnicios, D. Brent Wood, Lynes R. “Poco” Sloss, Anne and King Milling, Robert Bray, Stephen Manshel, Nicolas and Haydee Bazan, Esmond and Margo Phelps, Carmen (Mrs. Kelly) Duncan, Stephanie (Mrs. Ludovico) Feoli, J. Storey Charbonnet, and Leo Marsh, each one with an impressive title or two. Of course, a top title belongs to Janet R. Howard, that of president and CEO of the BGR, a private, nonprofit, independent research organization dedicated to informed policy making and the improvement of government in the metropolitan area.

“Giving” headlined the gathering at the Hyatt Regency Hotel when the Association of Fundraising Professionals Greater New Orleans Chapter (AFPGNOC) presented its National Philanthropy Day Luncheon. Throughout the world, the AFP represents nearly 30,000 members in more than 206 chapters working to, among other things, advance philanthropy through advocacy, research, education and certification programs. Capital One was the 28th luncheon’s title sponsor and the Joe W. and Dorothy Dorsett Brown Foundation, Baptist Community Ministries Foundation and the Catholic Foundation, among the other major sponsors.

Champagne at the pre-luncheon patron reception added a note of ebullience. So did the theme, “Change the World with a Giving Heart”; the various shades of decorative blue on printed materials and in the centerpiece hydrangeas; and the exclusively designed awards (also blue) in pottery done by David Wortman. Teamed to chair the luncheon were Erin McQuade Wright and Uyen Phan Yi.

At noon, the formalities of the program started with chapter President Juli Smith Pattison welcoming the large crowd and the Rev. William H. Terry giving the invocation. The mistress of ceremonies was Nell Nolan, this columnist. Additional chapter officers were President-Elect Laurie Conkerton, Alice Wright, Charlotte Thomas, Maria Elliott, Christy Read and Kathleen Gross.

Always a high point of the luncheon, the 2012 awards ceremony acknowledged Marilyn Dittmann, Outstanding Fundraising Executive; Susan “Susu” Lane Stall, Outstanding Volunteer; Louisiana Hospitality Foundation, Outstanding Foundation (and represented by president David Blitch and his wife, Margaret Dubuisson Blitch, as well as Melvin Rodrigue, Katy Casbarian, Octavio Mantilla and Tony Abadie); First NBC Bank, Leadership in Corporate Philanthropy (and represented by President Ashton Ryan Jr. and Ed Marshall); and, sharing the Outstanding Philanthropist award and title, spouses J. Kerry Clayton and Paige Royer, who moved to the Crescent City in mid-2006 and have been involved since then with a series of nonprofit organizations.

Further notables were John Trainor, Paul Spencer, Paul Leaman, Ann Heslin, Marc Barnes, Roselle Ungar, Charles “Charlie” Young, Michael Bourg, John Bullard, and Susan and Jimmy Gundlach, proud mom and stepdad of Susu Stall.

Dec 5, 2012

Source: The Times-Picayune

Fair Use Notice

This site occasionally reprints copyrighted material, the use of which has not always been specifically authorized by the copyright owner. We make such material available in our efforts to advance understanding of issues and to highlight the accomplishments of our affiliates. We believe this constitutes a ‘fair use’ of any such copyrighted material as provided for in section 107 of the US Copyright Law. In accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107, the material on this site is available without profit. For more information go to: US CODE: Title 17,107. Limitations on exclusive rights: Fair use. If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond ‘fair use’, you must obtain permission from the copyright owner.