Events BGR Excellence in Government Awards 2011

2011 Honorees

Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Ellen Cancienne, Accountant I, Department of Finance, St. Charles Parish
  • J. Charles Oubre, III, Senior Accountant, Department of Finance, St. Charles Parish

Innovation Award

  • David Benton, Senior Software Programmer, Clerk of Court, Jefferson Parish
  • Kristen Lozada, Chief Operating Officer, New Orleans College Prep

Merit Award

  • Carla A. Chiasson, Grants Specialist, St. Charles Parish Grants Office
  • Donna Kilpatrick, Administrative Assistant, Town of Abita Springs
  • Mickey Landry, Head of School, Lafayette Academy Charter School
  • Catasha C. Lewis, Utility Billing Clerk, Department of Finance, City of Mandeville


Thursday, September 22, 2011

8:00 AM


Sheraton Metairie
Galleria Ballroom
Four Galleria Blvd.

More Info

Establish in 1994, this annual program makes cash awards of up to $1,000 to government employees for outstanding performance and creative problem-solving.

The Awards
The Innovation Award recognizes employees who have used innovative solutions to solve pressing problems. BGR will present up to three Innovation Awards, with cash prizes of $1,000 each.

The Merit Award recognizes outstanding performance by public sector employees. BGR will present up to four Merit Awards, with cash prizes of $500 each.

The Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes sustained performance over a career in public service. Nominees with a minimum of 15 years of public employment are eligible. BGR will present up to two Lifetime Achievement Awards, with cash prizes of $1,000 each.

For more information or to RSVP for this event contact Megan Keating at or 504-525-4152, ext. 108 or by“email”

Please click here to view the BGR Excellence in Government Invitation.